Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

XXX Beaver

HDRnR

A-List Customer
good question...

I've wondered myself, I assume it has something to do with the quality but I'm no expert. I have a Stetson that is 4x...

HDRnR

A-List Customer
Straw

I've also seen Stetson straw hats with the same ratings and the higher xxx's cost more...

Bud-n-Texas

Practically Family
The X factor is supposed to be a measurement of the quality of the hat. Every maker applies a different standard, so as an end result the X's really make no difference.

Matt Deckard

Man of Action
The quality of a hat

The X never really meant anything. within a company a higher number of X's may have meant that the hat was of a higher quality, though from one hatter to another there was never a standard. Some companies used it like a suggested where a 10 x hat would cost 10 dollars. If you see a hatter today using X's as a sign of measurement, just remember that the ruler they are using to measure quality is made of elastic.

You also cannot go by All Beaver as a sign of better quality as beaver fur quality varies same as hare quality, so you can have blends that are better than all beaver hats as well as all hare hats that are better than blends. The real test of the quality of a hat is the test of time.
Graphiteroll1-vi.jpg

SHARPETOYS

Call Me a Cab
Its called Marketing

The X Factor Rating System