Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

1920's - 40's Halloween music, input please

Blackjack

One Too Many
As a carrere musician I've recorded three albums of Halloween tinged music for a label in Chicago under the name the Moon-Rays. We are considering doing a fourth CD of classic Halloween music from the 20's through the 40's in the original arrangements and style, most of which has never been re-recorded before. What I would like input on is would you folks as vintage lovers have an interest in such a project or would you say why buy re-makes when the originals are out there, even if well done.. In the rock and surf world they will buy anything new, but the classic swing and jazz fans are a little more traditional. These project are quite costly and it's always good to feel out the market before taking one on. Any response would be greatly appreciated.

Starius

Practically Family
I think its a great idea.

Taking the time to find all the original versions can be a lot of work, so a collection of such songs on a new album would be a nice alternative, I think.

Chas

One Too Many
"Mr. Ghost Goes To Town" ~ (The Dorsey Brothers) Dean Mora will have this chart. Ask him.

That's the only one I can think of at the moment. Funny. You would expect to have recordings of that sort of thing. There are scads of Halloween-inspired 50s stuff, but not much 20s-40s.

RetroToday

A-List Customer
Did you do this one yet?
Many artists have covered it since it was written in the 1934, a couple of the versions do sound creepy.

Only trouble is, do you guys do vocals at all? All the tunes on your MySpace sound great, but they're instrument-only.
I feel this song would need a voice in there to convey the lyrics.

The House Is Haunted (by the echo of your last goodbye)
Lyrics by Billy Rose

The house is haunted