Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

B3 Jacket issues

SpykiE

New in Town
I recently purchased a B3 jacket and everything was fine until this past week. I've begun to notice very small issues with some of the sheepskin areas of the jacket. I noticed to the right of the leather map pocket, it looks as if the sheepskin is flaking in a small area. On other very very small areas of the jacket, there has been some flaking as well (not even noticeable unless you really get way up close), but is this normal?? I'm no expert on these jackets as it is the first one I've ever owned....I've had the jacket for about 2-3 weeks now and I'm a little concerned. Does anyone know anything about this at all? I would be very appreciative to hear your responses.

Brad

BellyTank

I'll Lock Up
Are you talking about the outside, where the back side of the sheepskin(the actual skin) has the "polyacrylate lacquer" coating? It happens with B-3s, that's just the way it is but some of the more expensive repros seem to take wear better without the crackling/flaking-maybe due to a better coating or curing/tanning of the skin. Wartime B-3s had this coating applied in order to be presentable but also to be water repellent and actually solvent and oil proof. It was a kind of a solution to "what to do". Although some people think the lacquer was a depot re-finishing solution.
Who made your B-3?

BT.

SpykiE

New in Town