Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Bay Rum year round?

French

Familiar Face
Hello all.

I've been using Dominica Bay Rum since January 2009, and am very pleased with it. However, I want to be sure this can be a 'year round' aftershave (or at least I want to check in to be sure I'm not making a scent faux pas). Is Bay Rum acceptable for year round, or do you have suggestions for a spring/summer scent?

thank you,
French

Doug C

Practically Family
yes I guess it's not really a faux-pas, but in my opinion is goes so much better on a hot summers day, sort of a carribean type thing to me. You know, it sort of blends well with a sweaty tan [huh] .. with that said though, I still splash it on every once in a while through-out the cooler months. I know this probably won't be a popular recommendation amongst the gentlemen in this forum but, for the fall/winter I've always loved the smell of Drakkar Noir, and that's what I use the most when it's cool out.

Doug C

Mid-fogey

Practically Family
Unless...

...you're trying to establish a signature scent, you may want to explore the wide world of possibilities.

I've used Dominica. I like it. It's economical, but I find it loses its scent rather quickly. I've had better luck with Royall or St Johns. Both come in bay rum, lime or other scents. I find the lime in particular to be be great for hot weather.

To your original question, there is nothing specifically Summer about bay rum. The warm weather connection stops with where it's made.

French

Familiar Face
thanks everyone

Thank you for the helpful suggestions. I think I will need to try some of the Royall or St. John's lime scent, that just screams summer to me...or maybe it is screaming "key lime pie"...whatever it is, I find the thought appealing.

French

Michaelshane

One Too Many
P1040572.jpg
[/IMG]