Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Beaver fedoras

Will

One of the Regulars
If any of you hat aficionados do not already know of Paul's Hat works in San Francisco, one of America's last custom hatters, I published an essay and some photos today at A Suitable Wardrobe.

AlanC

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Will, thanks for the picture and the link. The price seems a bit on the high side compared to pure beaver customs from Optimo or Art Fawcett (4x/5x). Any idea why?

Will

One of the Regulars
AlanC said:
Will, thanks for the picture and the link. The price seems a bit on the high side compared to pure beaver customs from Optimo or Art Fawcett (4x/5x). Any idea why?

I am a near novice when it comes to hats as most of my experience is with James Lock and there I just bought 'em and wore 'em.

When I thought about the premium Michael charges relative to those hats, it's a bit higher than what I'd expect to pay for a bespoke pair of shoes relative to Edward Green, for example, but not outrageously so.

I haven't seen and hence am not qualified to comment on the alternatives you mention but I'll be interested to learn more about them.

AlanC

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Optimo Hats of Chicago

Vintage Silhouettes--VS is Art Fawcett, a regular poster here at FL

Both offer full beaver and full custom. I'm not trying to shill for them, although I am a customer of Art's. Both have a lot of fans on the Lounge. And I'm not questioning Paul's quality, it just seems his pricing is a bit out of whack compared to them. Of course, if he can get it, more power to him, I guess.

RedPop4

One Too Many
I like this one.

beaver1.jpg

Art Fawcett

Sponsoring Affiliate