Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Best option for for protecting fedora from heavy rain & snow?

Genuine Classic Gangster

One of the Regulars
Hello everyone. This is my first post here. I am really happy be here. :)

I have been wearing fedoras for about 14 years.

I hope your advice can help me sort out the best solution to the dilemma that I am about to describe.

Throughout my years of wearing fedoras, most have only lasted for 2 years; maybe one or two of them lasted for 3 years at the maximum. All of them have been Biltmore fedoras.

Throughout the entire life of any one of my fedoras, it would gradually shrink. Eventually it would shrink to the point where it was too tight to fit me any more without squeezing my head excessively.

I asked an employee of my local hatter why this shrinking occurred and what I could do to prevent it with future fedoras. Her only response was, "They shouldn't shrink." Maybe they shouldn't, but I am certain that they do, therefore the advice that "they shouldn't shrink" doesn't help me.

I live in Canada, and I have definitely subjected all of my fedoras to heavy amounts of rain and snow. From what I have read so far, this seems to be the most likely reason as to why they have shrunk.

Starting now, I would rather avoid having my fedoras continue to shrink and hence to become unusable after every two years of service.

I do not wear fedoras just to look good (although that is certainly one reason why I do). The most important reason why I wear them is because they keep my head warm in the very cold Canadian winters. That is to say, I wear my fedora most of all because it literally performs for me a function necessary to my survival.