Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Extended Cold Weather Clothing System (ECWCS) discussion

mumpy

A-List Customer
Hi everyone,

I've searched the forum but I couldn't find a thread about ECWCS and similar type of military clothing systems.

I am new to this and do not have a military background but I am fascinated by some of these garments for how functional/durable they be.
You can find these items at excellent prices online, even in new condition.

I can see this type of clothing being super useful for people who like hiking or backpacking. These garments compress really well. I am able to fit a Gen III Level 6 waterproof GORE-TEX jacket in my cargo pockets.

I've found some resources that are very useful and will link to them at the bottom of this post.

The ECWCS system has 7 layers and certain configurations of these layers make sense for certain situations. I've found the following picture to be useful as a starting point:

1692349103168.jpeg

I own the following pieces and have more on the way.

This is a Gen III Polartec Fleece (Level 3). Very lightweight and insanely warm. Can be found for 40-50 dollars new with tags. Cheaper if slightly used.

2023-08-18 10.03.25.jpg

Military specification: https://ciehub.info/spec/PD/GL-PD-06-03_2007-12-28.pdf

Below is a much heaver Gen II Fleece. I heard very good things about this one and some people prefer this over the Gen III. Insanely warm.
Same price range as the Gen III but more difficult to find in good condition.

2023-08-18 10.03.28.jpg

Military specification: https://quicksearch.dla.mil/Transient/E73C3123E79A44C980276ED3B0FD9C3F.pdf