Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Fabric choice for dressing gown

nigelewan

New in Town
Hello! This is my first time posting but I've been a lurker for more than a year. I've found this forum to be a treasure trove of helpful information, so thank you all! I finally have a question to which I can't find the answer elsewhere.

I just bought a pattern similar to this one and I plan to make myself a dressing gown like the one on the right (shawl collar ftw!), however, I don't have any idea what type of fabric to make it out of. I've read about dressing gowns made of all kinds of fabrics, but it's hard to know what I like without being able to feel different ones.

I like the idea of silk but I'm not quite sure how heavy it would be—I have a really lightweight woman's wrapper in mind and I know I don't want something that lightweight. Flannel would be cozy, but for some reason it doesn't sound very dapper. ...and what about linings? How common is it to find a lined golden-era dressing gown? Thanks for your help!

Tailor Tom

One of the Regulars
My little bit....

I see you are in Ohio, Minnesota here and deal with weather extremes, so I have both light weight and winter weight. Summer is made from fine cotton shirting material in a multi-colored stripe. Winter is one of two, heavy terry for practical reasons, and a camel cashmere with coco silk piping.

As for lining, it ads weight and heat to the garment.

cptjeff

Practically Family
My mother made me one of those in a heavy fleece for christmas a while back. Not the most classic fabric, but it is quite warm and comfortable.

If you want something more classic, terrycloth would be your answer. Cotton flannel would be comfy, wool flannel would be too scratchy and itchy for me.

I would just go to a fabric store and feel a few fabrics.

BinkieBaumont