Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Film Noir?

Anachronism

One of the Regulars
I really hope this thread doesn't already exist, but I've seen so many parodies and heard so much about "film noir" from the 30s and 40s, and I was wondering what (if any) film noir movies are must-watch or just really good.

Laura Chase

One Too Many
I'm by no means an expert, but I know some people define film noir in terms of content and theme. Personally, I prefer to define it in terms of style, and in that manner, it comes very close to the German expressionist cinema.

For a noir in the first sense, The Maltese Falcon pops to mind straight away. It's a classic. Personally, I'm very fond of the book, but was a little bored by the movie.

For a noir in the second sense, stylistically, I think M - Eine Stadt sucht einen Mörder is a must-see. Even though this movie isn't American, and in that sense (I guess) could be excluded from the noir genre, I simply find it amazing in terms of style. Also, as a precursor for the entire genre, really.

mike

Call Me a Cab
There are lots of must see Film Noirs. None of them were considered classics at the time as they were basically 40's b-movies. It wasn't until the French discovered them after WW2 and declared it a movement, did they get much spotlight. Double Indemnity is probably the most popular. Detour, Out of the Past, In a Lonely Place, Raw Deal, the Naked City, Touch of Evil are probably some of my favorites, but their are lots of really good ones!

The Lost One (aka Der Verlorene) directed by Peter Lorre in Germany in 1950 is absolutely worth tracking down. Consider it comparable to Laughton's classic Night of the Hunter!

Other European made films that can certainly seen as having noir touches are Carol Reed's the Third Man and Maurice Tourneur's the Devil's Hand.