Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Hat compliment

Smyat

One of the Regulars
Got my first serious compliment on my hat today - I've been wearing now for about six months, sporadically at first and frequently for the last six weeks or so. Gotten a few comments but nothing substantive.

Today, a store manager who was helping me with something finally said, "I like the hat. Stetson?" I said, "No, it's a Herbert Johnson." His eyes got wide and he actually said, "Ooh. Nice."

I'm beginning to be sorry I waited so long to get around to hats. Cheeze, at forty-mumble I finally feel like an adult!

happyfilmluvguy

Call Me a Cab
It's nice when they ask where you actually purchased it. A compliment's nice, but you have to reel them in.....:fedora:

"join us or you shall perish!"

The Outlaw Kyle

One of the Regulars
"Just once I'd like to be called 'sir', without it being followed by 'your making a scene'"- Homer Simpson

I've gotten some mildly positive comments, it feels nice.

Fast

Familiar Face
Student: What's your first name?

Me: Mister

Student: yuh. but really. .

Me: Wait, I guess you want to know my nickname?

Student (now hopeful of familiar address): Uh huh.

Me: sir

Carpe Diem
Fast

Tango Yankee

Call Me a Cab
Fast,

That sounds like conversations I've had in the Air Force!

Airman: So, what do you go by, Thomas or Tom?

Me: Sergeant.