Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Hat Stretcher.....

bolthead

My Mail is Forwarded Here
I am in need of a hat stretcher and not having any luck finding one anywhere in my area, I turned to good 'ole ebay for one.

My question to the loungers though, did I pay too much for it @ $15? That was including S&H. Also, it was new as well. I can post a picture if that'll help. Thanks in advance.

PS. I've never used one before either, are they safe to use? :rolleyes:

Regarding your P.S.: Check out old threads on stretching. Yes, many hats can be safely and effectively stretched at home, but there are hazards, so I recommend boning up before cranking up that stretcher.

Is 15 bucks too much? Doubt it. I'm assuming that for that kind of dough you got one of those Hat Jack type stretchers. That's about what they cost regular retail, I think. If you got something more substantial than that, I'd say you did well.

nulty

One of the Regulars
For 15 bucks I'm sure you did fine....

As TonyB said , some research is good if the process is new or unfamiliar. And especially if the hat is one of a kind or hass something special about it. It's best to go slow..

I just put a stretcher into a late 1940's Stetson 20 about an hour ago. It was hard won and not cheap hat so I'm taking extra care.....

As long as you aren't trying to stretch something up in size too far you are OK.
Check out the old threads and Good Luck!

MrPumpernickel

One of the Regulars