Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Howdy, ladies! Another Texan signing in!

Sunny

One Too Many
I stumbled on this forum sometime last week. I love that y'all's favorite years are definitely pre-1950! Nothing wrong with things after that, but style changed so much. Anyway, I've been browsing and reading, and I'm finally around to introducing myself!

I'm not only living in Texas, I've always lived in Texas, in the Dallas-Fort Worth area. (Except for four years at Texas A&M.)

I grew up with a huge interest in World War II. Although I now work in the aerospace industry, I'd wager I still know more about 1940s combat aircraft than about modern planes. My biggest historical interest for the last 10 years has been 1860s reenacting. I've made my own wardrobe for that practically since I started. So I have a good bit of sewing experience, although "new" inventions like zippers still scare me!

I've always loved vintage style, so right now I'm trying to incorporate it into my current wardrobe without being too out there. Not that I mind being stared at! And it's hard not to stress over "authenticity." But between a full-time job and grad school, most of my effort has to go into the 1860s.

Nevertheless, I've been adding to my wardrobe this past year, both through sewing and ebay. Of course, shoes are my favorite vintage accessory! They're a great way to add that vintage flavor. Currently I'm making a Vintage Vogue 1949 suit out of navy wool satin. It's on hold until this wicked Texas heat cools off... like maybe November...