Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Just what I needed...

Lee Lynch

One of the Regulars
I'm pleased to say that on the heels of my recent finding of a great dark Navy Blue 40's suit,(photos soon, it's on layaway..), I have now stumbled on a perfect match for it.

We were rummaging at the Forestwood Antique Mall here in Dallas, and they had a recent acquisition of men's hats. They were all the same size, and I just had a feeling that they had come from the same estate. I was as always about to give up on all these 7 1/8's when I put one on and it fit!( I'm 7 1/4).
It is a Dark Navy Blue Knox with 2 3/4" brim, in outstanding shape. Needs a cleaning, but on my head this thing looks new, guys. I'm pretty new to this, so I thought I was purchasing a non-vintage fedora.
Actually, it was retailed from Dreyfuss and Son in Dallas, and they were open in Dallas from 1911 to 1956.

Ligth-Photo.jpg

This darker pic actually shows the true color of the hat...next to my dark green vintage suit, it looks black.

Dark-Photo.jpg

Here is the Knox Label and inside lining...

Knox-Label.jpg

Here is the Dreyfuss and Son Stamp...

Store-Stamp.jpg

And as a bonus to me at least, the original price tag from Dreyfuss and Son, showing the original purchase price of $20, is still inside the sweatband. I just carefully moved the band back into place...

Price-Tag.jpg

I'm very pleased. For $35, this was a fine deal...

Lee Lynch

One of the Regulars
Thanks Stoney!

Here's the Bow and the liner...

Bow.jpg

liner.jpg

The liner is hardly yellowed at all, which is one of the things that made me think I had a newer hat..:)

feltfan

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Lee Lynch said:
The liner is hardly yellowed at all, which is one of the things that made me think I had a newer hat..:)

Yeah, newer. You're a funny guy.