Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

London Bowler hats

Visconde

New in Town
Hi, I'm going to London next month for a quick visit and I'm wondering if it'd be possible to be able to purchase a bowler hat while I'm there.
This goes without saying but it should be a hat with reasonable quality since I'd never do for anything less. BUT I am a student and students live on student-budgets.

So it should be a hat that is cheap, but doesn't look like it is.
Does anybody here have the knowledge of a shop in the London area where I could find something like this?

With kind regards,

Visconde

Matt Deckard

Man of Action
The best and i mean the best bowlers come from ebay and are vintage.

I've seen a few that are okay from modern makers yet they never get the edge the way they used to with the tight curl on the side.

One of those vintage bowlers
Bowler1-vi.jpg

Now if you simply must buy one from a company in the UK...

There is Lock Hatters, they invented the bowler

http://www.lockhatters.co.uk/

Christy's ...you might find a Christy's version as they seem to be the ones i find most places

http://www.villagehatshop.com/christys_bowler.html

Herbert Johnson is a shadow of itself and they probably get their version from Christy's... though you may want to run downstairs and see what's in their hat section just for the heck of it.

http://www.herbert-johnson.co.uk/

Visconde

New in Town
Thank you for the quick replies. Ever since I saw "A Clockwork Orange" I wanted a bowler but if these are the prices, maybe I'll just look for one on ebay. I'll pay one of these shops a visit anyway and try some of these hats. I'll take a picture of it and later claim I have a real english bowler, just to impress my friends.

with kind regards,

Visconde

Matt Deckard

Man of Action