Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Some advice please for next lid purchase...

addison

One of the Regulars
I'm a newb.
I bought my first real lid last summer, a Akubra Bogart.
I've learned more about what I like since then and I'm going to sell it off for something different.
I recently bought a BGCD, which I really love...I love the shape of it, the color, the bound edge brim and the shape of the brim. It's classic.
Now I want what will be my SECOND real hat, to be funded in part by selling off the Bogart.
I look at my CD as a non-formal "fun" everyday hat, and I want hat that might be a touch more appropriate with a suit but will still be good for casual use. The emphasis is still the everyday use, because I do not dress formally very often.
I'm considering another CD or a Fed IV in medium brown or light/medium gray. I would also consider a Stetson within a budget of under $200.
Whatever I buy needs to be able to withstand the elements. I will wear it in rain, snow, etc.
I'm looking for a lot of versatility because these two hats will be all I get for a few months as per an agreement with my lovely lady. <3
I would also consider other suggestions withing my budget. I just don't feel too confident diving into vintage hats just yet until I learn more.
God bless and thanks for your input!

Addison%20Campdraft%20date%20recvd%2010.26.16.jpg

bluesforchallah

Practically Family
I just feel that Akubra hats are so amazingly overrated around here ... they are fine ... great for knocking around ...tough hats indeed ... but cats lose their minds about them on this forum