Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

The right hat, the right look

MDphoto

One of the Regulars
Finding the right hat

Hello everyone.

Newbie here, so please excuse my ignorance on the this subject, but how do I go about finding the right hat for my face shape?

I don't have a hatter in my area (that I can find anyway), there is one upscale mens clothes store in town, but they only stock only one style of Dobbs. I've tried checking local thrift stores/vintage clothes stores with no luck.
I have gone through different websites and looked at there "finding a hat" pages, but without really trying a hat on, I'm a bit hesitant in buying it especially with the high price of few of them have.
I finally just decided to buy a couple of cheap hats off of Ebay that I liked so I can see how they look on me. At least I know I've got the right size coming. Well, as long as the seller described the hat size correctly.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Yohanes

One of the Regulars
Hello there, welcome to the lounge. Is there any way for you to ist a hat store in another city nearby? That would be most ideal.

Anyway, me myself is also a hat / fedora fans who never goes to a hat store because there is none in my country. All I bought merely from speculation and I only failed once (the hat doesn't suit me - and can't be rebashed - it's crushable wool)

First thing for sure you need to know your size. I'm not experienced, all knowledge I know about hats are mostly from this forum anyway, but in general, if your face is more of roundish, plump, or "full" then get a wide brim fedora (2.5 inch brim or above). But if your face is thin, stingy brim would look better (brim 2 in or smaller). Myself, though I'm short, I have big head but stingy brim suits me better (or maybe haven't found a good wide brim yet).