Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Things I'm Sick of Hearing at Job Interviews...

LizzieMaine

Bartender
1. (After glancing at resume) "Why would someone like YOU be interested in working HERE?"

2. "We just have whoever's handy write the copy. We think it's the visual element that's really more important."

3. "Fifteen years in radio. That must've been really fun for you."

4. "Wow, you work at the Strand? Could you get me a couple passes for that concert next week?"

5. (With supercilious shake of the head.) "Of course, there are no benefits with this position."

I'm sure you all could add to the list....

TheKitschGoth

A-List Customer
I'd be grateful to get as far as interviews right now.

So far I'm sick of total silence when places ignore my application.
Or hearing that I have no experience and no way of gaining experience. Grrr.

Lady Day

I'll Lock Up
Bartender
This actually happened to me. I had an 'interview' for Nickelodeon's tv animation department, and within the entire interview (a whopping 10 min)they looked at my work for about 10 sec, and just droned on and on about what they were looking for at NICK!

"What made you apply here?"

me in my mind "I need a job."

"Can you be a team player?"

"Well, all of our 2D animation is done overseas, what else can you do?"

:eek: :eusa_doh:

"Well...*naming list of thigs*

"Well I dont see that here...."

me in my mind "Well I just applied for a 2D job that you appear not to have."

"Well here is some info on how to aply online, and here is my card. When you get *naming off stuff I dont do*, please apply through the site.

me in my mind "Filler."

Sheesh.

LD

BegintheBeguine

My Mail is Forwarded Here