Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Vintage Microphones?

DronesDodz

One of the Regulars
Hey,
I am a audio and broadcasting engineer from Greenville SC. I am currently doing some research on vintage microphones for voice recording and I am wondering if anyone can give me some information on the type of microphones you can always see in news reels from the 1940s as used by Hitler, Churchill, Roosevelt etc. Tech specs would be great but general info are also very welcome :)
CK

Vornholt

One of the Regulars
I do regular recording with a set of vintage RCA ribbons, so I can certainly appreciate the attraction.

Try this site for a ton of information on a very, very wide variety of microphones.

http://www.coutant.org/contents.html

PM me if you have any questions on my gear.

Barrelhouse

One of the Regulars
That mic you usually see Hitler screaming behind is, I think, a Neumann CMV3/3A. I have an illustration in a book that lists this mic as a Telefunken manufactured by Neuman. I don't know the history there but the cmv3 was the premier mic in Germany during the 30's.

RCA ribbon mics like the "44" where pretty much the industry standard in the USA during the 30's and 40's. I really don't know what was being used in Great Britain and France at that time.

Sorry I can't be of any more help to you. What little knowledge of mics I have is from about a decade later in the 1950's and 60's.

Pilgrim

One Too Many
Two of the most common studio mikes seen in old documentaries are the RCA 44DX and its successor, the 77DX. The 44 has angled corners on the windscreen:

rca_44DX.jpg

....and the 77 has the capsule contour:

RCA-77DX.jpg

I have a fully functional 77DX sitting on my bookshelf in my office as a reminder of my broadcasting career. I even have the factory zippered cover for it.

Vornholt