Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Why do you wear suits? . . .

Matt Crunk

One Too Many
When purchasing my latest suit find (a nice wool, single breasted, two button, three piece number in medium brown) for $15 at a local thrift store, the lady at the checkout looked me over and commented that the suit just "wasn't me". I can only guess that remark as prompted by my appearance that day. As a tattoo artist by trade, with full sleeves of tattoos and stretched ear piercings, standing there as I was in my usual daily uniform of shop t-shirt, Dickies work pants, and black Converse Chucks, I probably didn't look much like the suit wearing type to anyone.

But then it occurred to me - the very reason I love suits so much is probably directly related to the fact that I don't HAVE to wear one for a living. If it was required dress for my job, day in and day out, I'd probably HATE to wear suits. In fact I'd probably hate any job that required me to wear one. But as it is, I wear suits strictly for fun and style.

So, how many of you guys (and dolls) wear suits because you have to? How many just for kicks, style, and the love of dressing up? Or both?

-MC

Jay

Practically Family
I love them cause they look stylish and draw attention, thus sparking conversations and making me look cool. Also, they hide my skinny appearance and make me look more...balanced.

Maj.Nick Danger

I'll Lock Up
I hear what you're saying. I used to have to wear a suit everyday. After about a month or two, the allure of suit wearing did wear off. :eusa_doh:

So now it's more of a treat as I am not compelled to wear a suit.
I wish work was like this.
Maybe if we had "Formal Friday" instead of "Casual Friday",...

moustache

Practically Family
Because it is FUn to wear nice clothes!!

Maj.Nick Danger said: