Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

18th century people

Fatdutchman

Practically Family
Just how many 18th century people are here on the Lounge? Reenactors, flintlock shooters, etc. I know of 3 or 4 others already.

How many of us take off our cocked hats, only to then put on a fedora?

:D

TraderRic

One of the Regulars
I'm new at 18th C. reenacting. I have a hunting outfit and a flintlock. I'm a shooter by trade and with using the latest technology all the time, I wanted to go back to a time when you had to rely on your own knowledge. I am also an avid hunter and outdoorsman, so getting back to the basics was a goal of mine. The pride of my outfit is my hat. I have two. I bought two brown blanks in Williamsburg, VA (I live in the area). I made a tricorn out of one myself and the other I left with a wide brim and made the band. I'll try to get som pics and post them.

Big Man

My Mail is Forwarded Here
AManandhisDog.jpg

(photo by David Wright)

Count me in with the 18th century living history gang. For a number of years I was heavily involved with "hands-on" kind of 18th century things. I was honored with the opportunity to have a part in the building of "Martin's Station" at the Wilderness Road State Park in Virginia, as well as to participate on several long-range living history projects. Probably the most "intense" activity was our group's annual "Linville Gorge Death March", but the most enjoyable was our "Granville county Deer Hunt" (we went to the woods for three or four days to hunt, then went on to Williamsburg to do a little "hunting" in the taverns).

Unfortunately, for the past two years or so I've not been able to do anything due to family obligations that have required me to not be away from home.

Lauren

Distinguished Service Award