Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

1940s wardrobe essentials

imported_miss_molly

Familiar Face
Hello everyone! :D

I'm new to the forum - and to vintage - but I have been lurking for a while and think this forum is simply wonderful.

I just have a quick question for you ladies - since I am relatively new to vintage fashion but really love 1940s style, I was wondering what you consider to be the essentials of a 1940s wardrobe in terms of clothes and accessories?

Your advice would be very much appreciated! :)

Lareesie Ladavi

One of the Regulars
Hello!

Personally, I think it's about the hair and makeup. A tube of red lipstick(don't forget the lip liner!) and false eyelashes are what pulls it together. As far as clothing goes...a pencil skirt is an easy thing to find and always makes me think of the 40s.

retrogirl1941

One Too Many
I wanna say there is already a thread about this but, I cant find it. Maybe a bartender will have better luck.
So, 40s where all about sportswear seperates. Skirts and blouses mixed with sweater vests, jackets, sweaters etc etc. The lipstick and hair is one part of it. Most people only had a few good dresses but most of the wardrobe was made up of seperates b/c it made more sense with rationing in effect. You could stretch your points further. Good accesories are a must! Get black and brown accesories and make sure they all match and you will never have to worry about matching your accesories again! Thats all for now, I will elaborate later if needed. Hope that helped.

Samantha

Lady Day

I'll Lock Up
Bartender
retrogirl1941 said:
I wanna say there is already a thread about this but, I cant find it. Maybe a bartender will have better luck.