Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Beaver X Question

Atticus Finch

Call Me a Cab
Hi Folks,

I'm new to the world of hats (other than the $3.59 blaze orange hat that I once wore quail hunting). I have recently ordered a new Open Road which is 4X beaver. I have noticed that ORs are sometimes on e-bay described as seven X, three X and, like mine, four X beaver. I have only a loose notion of what "X" means and, until recently, had no clue that a particular hat model would be available in more than one "X value". I'm guessing that it has something to do with the quality of the beaver felt from which the hat is made, but I may be wrong.

I feel like somewhere on this forum there is already a discussion about what "X" means in the hat world but I'm not sure where to find it. Could someone point me to that thread? If not, could someone help understand what I need to know about the Xs in my new OR?

Thanks in advance,

Atticus

SHARPETOYS

Call Me a Cab
New Stetson's

The modern Stetson of today 3X, 4X has no beaver at all just rabbitt fur felt.

It's unfortunate, but the X's marked in most people’s hats don't really mean much anymore. In a simpler time they did, but the standard became corrupt and now it's pretty hard to take to the bank.
The quality of materials in a hat are measured, in part, by how much beaver is in the mix. Back in the day when trappers began trading their beaver pelts to the eastern markets, the higher the quality pelts received more X's (and more dollars). This, in turn, was used in grading the quality of hats.

In 1940 a 5X hat was of high quality and cost $50.00, $5.00 per X. A 10X hat was 100% beaver and cost $100.00.

Well, the less scrupulous folks in the hat industry saw an opportunity.