Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Different Ribbon Widths

TAutry

New in Town
Ok, I'm really new to hats and I've been reading all kinds of threads. I don't have a real fedora yet and am researching. In looking at the different picture posts, I see various ribbon widths. I think I'm partial to a ribbon around 1 inch wide. The really wide 1 3/4 to 2 inch don't really appeal. The really thin ribbons look cool for outdoor hats, but look a little western to me. I think the 1" or so, is a good in-between for an all-around, everyday hat.

What is the general opinion? I know it all boils down to individual preference and the look that a guy or gal wants. I just wonder what is the most popular width or is there one.

ManofKent

My Mail is Forwarded Here
I prefer wider ribbons - the hat in the post from Tim (Cane Rod Maker) has a ribbon slightly over 2". Having said that I'll happily wear hats with narrower ribbons from time to time, it depends on the hat.

T Jones

I'll Lock Up
For me, it all depends on what I'm going after, whether it's something of a Fedora look, a Western look, a casual look, dressy look, etc. I also consider the crown height, the shape of the crown, the color of the hat, and so on....but don't limit yourself to just one kind. You may pull off a lot of different styles better than you think.

For this Black hat and its crisp C-crown crease with a height of 4 1/2 inches, I chose a Khaki colored 3/4 mid-ribbon...

Black_Resistol_Conversion_02.jpg

Black_Resistol_Conversion_01.jpg

Two more 3/4 mid-ribbons...

OR_Hybrid_02.jpg

Comparison_01.jpg

Or_Center_Dent_06.jpg

Comparison_02.jpg

A thin ribbon for the Open Road / Stratoliner look...

Slim_Ribbon_04.jpg

TAR_OR.jpg

A wider ribbon...

Conversion_02.jpg

A very thin Western style ribbon...

My_Bradford.jpg

Last edited:

gear-guy