Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Do You Consider Yourself To Be An Artist?

BonnieJean

Practically Family
I'm fairly new here, but there appears to me to be a common "thread" (no pun intended) throughout the FL forum. I am an artist and was wondering how many of you consider yourselves to be an artist, whether as an occupation and/or as part of your personality? Most artistic people that I've come into contact with (me included) do not like to follow the "norm" of society.

It seems all through my life I've "bucked the system". The clothes I liked were never the ones that were in style at the time, my hobbies were not considered "in vogue", etc. etc. I feel I've finally come full circle in expressing my artistic personality by wearing vintage/vintage-inspired clothing. This was my last "conformity to society" to finally give up. I'm probably a little older than some of you, but I do admire the younger crowd that wear and collect the vintage stuff with no regard to public opinion. (I really want to wear my gloves and hats with my vintage clothing in public, but I'm still a little "chicken" to do that yet, but the day will come!) I admit, I grew up in a conservative home where "first impressions are very important" and you should not stand out from the crowd. And perhaps, society itself today is more accepting of individual styles than it was during the 60s and 70s.

I'm just curious how many artistic types we have here.

Finally free,

BonnieJean

I am an artist. I used to draw, mostly portraits, and even sold several, but not enough to make a living on. Now I use my artistic talents in my doll restoration, and clothing design. I do at at home since I am a SAHM.