Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Does Hat with Moth Damage have value?

jec

One of the Regulars
Hi everyone, newbie here. I've been lurking here for awhile and have learned loads from you all. Thanks. Now I need a bit of advice:

I purchased a vintage Stetson fedora last week on EBay. Perhaps some of you helped get the bidding up (!). Here is the link:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320256225909&ssPageName=ADME:X:RTQ:US:1123

When the hat arrived here the other day, I was thrilled: it fits me like a glove, the felt has that supple vintage feel that I had looking for and the color is perfect.... BUT then I noticed moth damage that was not disclosed in the auction write up. I do believe that the seller missed it, or never looked for it. And I, not being savvy yet in these things, neglected to ask him to look and report back. There is a noticeable divot of about 2mm diameter behind the feathers. That one is prominent, but not so deep. There is a second smaller but deeper hole right behind the lower edge of the ribbon that does go through the felt.

So what to do? I contacted the seller, who apologized and offered a refund. Classy. But I really like the hat! It fits, I love the color and look. It just needs some clean-up. I'd wear it as a beater and casual hat, I think. As my first vintage purchase, I think I could learn from cleaning it up myself.

But what is it worth? Is there a value on a hat that has damage that can not be repaired? Since none of the EBay bidders knew of the moth holes, we let the bidding get hot at the close of the auction. Clearly the price I paid is more than it should have been? But what would have been fair? What can the seller offer that would be fair.