Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Dressing appropriately for The Job Interview?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JacketAddict

One of the Regulars
Hi all - I am an IT professional and I have had many positions over the past 20 years both full time and on a contractual basis. Lately I am puzzled by the "new rules" concerning proper attire for the job interview. Being from the old school I was always told to wear a suit and tie, clean and neat haircut and freshly shaved regardless of the position or type of job. Yet it seems that in the IT world where working attire is business casual or even just casual I feel over-dressed and self conscious when being interviewed by a "manager" wearing jeans and a t-shirt. I have been doing some soul-searching because I have not secured the last 2 positions I interviewed for even though I was well qualified and seemed to hit it off well with the interviewer(s). In both cases I met or exceeded the requirements so I can't help but think that perhaps I was over-dressed and actually might have intimidated the hiring managers. I almost get the feeling that dressing well sends the signal that I am a "pretty boy" and not a real "worker bee", afraid to get my hands dirty (figuratively speaking since the last time I got my hands dirty was eating lunch, not from pounding on a keyboard). As many of you know it is very difficult to ascertain why you were not chosen for a position since prospective employers will NEVER tell the true reasont why a person was not hired - so they usually make up something like "over-qualified" or "didn't have the required <insert obscure job skill here> or some other politically correct, legally safe term.