Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Dressing up or down?

Gilgamark

A-List Customer
My wife and I live in Nashville. I'm a political consultant and she's an artist, so we get invited to events with people in all sorts of different fields. I'm sure most cities are this way, but in Nashville, every segment seems to have its own way of designating the attire for events. For example, we're invited to a bar opening Saturday night being put on by a friend in country music management. The invitation calls for "concert casual" dress. Sounds like that means an old concert t shirt, jeans, and tennis shoes will be fine, right? (Of course, when in doubt, ask the host.)

I was reading "A Gentleman Dresses Up" two nights ago. The author recommends that when a man isn't sure about the level of formality that an event requires, he should err on the side of underdressing. If he overdresses, everyone will assume that he did it on purpose and is being snotty. If he underdressing, everyone will assume that it was a mistake.

Thoughts? Agree? Disagree?

Odalisque

A-List Customer
Well, as I'm always overdressed as a personal preference, I'd say there is never anything wrong with looking nice. The fact that dressing well can be construed as being snooty just goes to show you how warped our society has become. At one time, dressing properly when attending events showed you had respect for those who would be looking at you.

And when I read the term "concert casual", I first thought
orchestra.jpg

kind of concert. Definitely confirm with your host. That way you won't have to worry.

Not-Bogart13

Call Me a Cab
I've made the mistake in both directions, and the scorn in people's eyes (if it's there) is about the same amount. But I much prefer to be hated for besting everyone then being looked down upon as a slob.