Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

GABARDINE SHIRTS

BellyTank

I'll Lock Up
Hi all-
Belly Tank here- as it says, I'm new in this town but but fortunately I'm old in a lot of others.
I'm in the throws of getting some '40s style Gab flap-pocket shirts sampled with a view to a small-ish production in the near future.
They will initially be the neck-loop style, without a collar stand(the shirt you wear a tie with has a collar stand)- the top button fastens with a small loop. Of course, there will be flapped but buttonless chest pockets, a stylish '40s collar, a back yoke with gathering or a back box pleat and other minor period detailing. These shirts will be in a wool gabardine twill just like the genuine article. Hopefully it will all come together without a hitch- sourcing the correct fabric may be problamatic.
If this all comes together and works out, I might do some collar stand styles and Rayon Gab too.
I would like to gauge interest on this forum because I believe the menbers here have an understanding of vintage style.
What better shirt could you have to wear with your nice Fedora and leather jacket? Classic '40s smart casual I say...
Please post a reply or contact me via email with any queries or suggestions.
BTank. ashford@mail-telia.dk

BellyTank

I'll Lock Up
Hi David-
I just wrote a really long response but got kicked out when I submitted it...

Here's the basics again-
price will remain undetermined until the product is somthing I'm happy with- all details must be perfect. I've seen fabric swatches and thy're really nice.
I can tell you that repros of WW2 Officers shirts run $85-$100+, are not that great and are made in high volume. You can expect to pay the cost of a really nice shirt that you're impressed with because, believe me you will be! They'll be worth it.