Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Hat Conversions and Refurbs by John Galt

T Jones

I'll Lock Up
It's my pleasure to introduce this thread to showcase John Galt's work. John is a passionate hat enthusiast and hobbyist who works as an attorney by profession. To those of us on the Lounge who have had the good fortune of sending our hats to John we see him also as a good friend. His talent for doing hat conversions and refurbs are just as good as any professional hatter can do. Coming from a working class blue collar family, and working as a Logger in California before entering college, John is very aware of how hard money is to come by for many of us these days, (he's been there). Those of us on the Lounge who have dealt with John admire that about him. He turns out quality work with professional results, while at the same time, is sensitive to keeping his prices affordable for us "working stiffs" ;)

Here's a couple hats John did for me. The first one began life as a 1950s Stetson Western Nutria. The hat was pretty roughed up and there were issues with the brim prior to being converted. After John worked his magic you couldn't tell it was the same hat. The hat came out beautiful. I'm very happy with it. The tall straight sided crown is just under 5 inches, as creased over all. It sports a Center Dent crease, 4 1/2 inches at the pinch and sloping to 4 inches in the back. The brim is 2 3/4 inches wide....

Before:

photo_1.jpg

After:

Nutria_1.jpg

Nutria_2.jpg

My_new_Nutria.jpg

The_Nutria_03.jpg

more to follow....

Last edited:

T Jones

I'll Lock Up