Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Help me save my jacket...

Griemersma

One of the Regulars
Okay, so my favorite piece of vintage clothing is probably my old Hercules horsehide jacket. It gets more wear than just about anything else I own. Anyhow, recently I have noticed that the collar is starting to crack. I have been treating the jacket regularly with Pecards since I got it a few years ago, but apparently that has not been enough.

Does anyone have any advice about what to do? Is it just a downward spiral from here? I have seen leather repair kits advertised before, but am very skeptical. Does anyone have any experience with them?

--G.R.

Tomasso

Incurably Addicted
Sorry to say but once leather begins cracking it's pretty much down hill. BTW, you'd probably get more responses if you posted your query in Outerwear.

Tophat Dan

New in Town
cracked leather

Hello Griemersma...
I worked in shoe repair for a while and we did leather repair to an extent (motorcycle saddlebags cracked from heat and whatnot).
Unfortunately Tomasso is correct, once leather starts to crack, there is no real way to stop it. You may be able to slow it down though, and keep the jacket wearable for some time to come. If the leather is cracking where I think it is, where the collar contacts your skin and thus the salt from your sweat, the damage could be caused by the drying effect of that salt.

The only way to slow the cracking of the leather there is to give it some support, like putting Bondo and new paint over a rusted area of an old car.
Get yourself an awl, some contact cement, some waxed carpet thread, a #10 harness needle and some thinnish garment leather of comparable weight to the jackets own leather, then cut yourself a patch, glue it on and *carefully* sew a patch over the cracked area.