Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

How to tell the difference between Repro and Real Vintage

• Thread starter Deleted member 12480
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 12480

Alright so i'm VERY new to vintage,

the only definitely real vintage i have is from a shop in Birmingham,

a sequin covered top/poncho type thing, and a leather jacket.

I only really own repro

I'm also a fan of ebay but am very hesitant to buy anything, so i was wondering how do you tell whats vintage and what just looks convincingly vintage?

or at least, where can i find some more information (books, sites etc) on the 40s-50s kind of dress, so i can tell myself?

Any help would be veeerry much appreciated.

Smuterella

One Too Many
I found reading this site and looking at other peoples purchases on here really useful.

visiting good vintage shops and examining clothes helps too.

A lot of real vintage from the 40's / 50's is handmade so you can often tell from the stitching and the finishing.

Look for metal zips too, and labels - the style of a clothing label can often give you an idea of age.

LizzieMaine

Bartender
1. Fabric -- if it feels polyestery, it probably is. Polyester started showing up in the fifties, so that doesn't necessarily mean it *can't* be vintage, unless you're looking for pre-fifties material.

2. Labeling -- keep a close eye on the style and typography of the labels. Modern labels *look* modern, and you should spend some time at the Vintage Fashion Guild Label Resource to get a sense of how vintage labels would look. Even if the exact label you're looking for isn't there, you'll get the feel for it.

3. Construction -- a modern garment will likely have a nylon zipper and serged seams. A vintage garment will likely have a metal zipper and pinked seams.