Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Leather replacement

photobyalan

A-List Customer
I have a Knox fedora from, I'm guessing, the early 50's, with a badly dried out and cracked sweatband. Obviously it needs to be replaced.

I'm curious as to whether having a replacement sweatband is going to make a difference in the desirability of this "vintage" hat. It will no longer have the Knox logo or the original owner's initials; on the other hand, it will be a brand new sweatband. What do you think?

gekisai29

One of the Regulars
as a noob i don't know much about hats but in the car world almost anythng that is not original equipment reduces the cash & cache.

Fedora

Vendor
[QUOTEI have a Knox fedora from, I'm guessing, the early 50's, with a badly dried out and cracked sweatband. Obviously it needs to be replaced.

I'm curious as to whether having a replacement sweatband is going to make a difference in the desirability of this "vintage" hat. It will no longer have the Knox logo or the original owner's initials; on the other hand, it will be a brand new sweatband. What do you think?
][/QUOTE]

I think you should put a Knox leather back in. Back when I was getting into the vintage hats heavily, I changed out a few in some old Stetsons, by cannibilizing other Stetson hats of the same line, that had moth damage. To me, part of the charm of vintage hats is the leather. They do not tan it like that anymore. Fedora

photobyalan

A-List Customer
That's a good idea, Fedora. I can probably find a Knox somewhere in an unpopular style that nobody else wants. If I'm going to cannibalize another hat for the sweatband, does it need to be the same size or larger? I'm guessing the answer is "yes".