Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

New on FL - What is this Irvin??...

Marseille

New in Town
Hi to all,

I have been consulting regularly this forum for quite a few months now, being always impressed by the high-level of most of the contributions – my congratulations to all of you for this - and all my thanks to keep this spirit alive through your dedication to details and respect of authenticity.

As many here I am an aviation enthusiast and have been collecting aviation-related items for quite some times now... with a special interest for 1930-1940 Soviet pilot equipments, uniforms, etc.

That's how I came to buy my first mod. 40 Eastman Irvin in 2005. I have been wearing it every winter since (although French, I live in former Soviet Union and weather is perfect for Irvins...) , it got a very nice patina and I love it - or loved it, until a "profesionnal" to whom I gave my beloved Irvin for dry cleaning thought it would deserve a new "paint"... This idiot had no better idea than spraying my whole Irvin with a cheap-red colour to make it look newer...:rage: But all this is past now, and with a lot of philosophy I have learned to live with it (and believe me I have tried everything to give back to my Irvin his old appearance and the maximum of the patina it had).

But the reason I an writing is different: I have recently bought in France a reportedly "barn-found" Irvin... I like to believe nice stories, and although the overal design, shape (and smell!!...) indicate (for me at least) it could be an original, I am not 100% convinced and would be happy to get some comments on this...

Here are some pics:

87807910.jpg

diapos11.jpg

diapos12.jpg

diapos13.jpg