Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Newbie intro, sizing advice sought...

Jackanapes

New in Town
Hello everyone, first post on fedora lounge here. Looks to be a very interesting and enlightening site. I've already learned quite a bit just browsing current threads and searching through old posts. Thanks to the admins for making it available to us all.

A little about myself: I'm a middle aged guy (late 40's) and for the vast majority of my life I have dressed very casually. I work as an engineer and fortunately had a job where I could wear jeans and a simple collared shirt every day. Sometimes even more basic attire than that if I have to do field work (which I did frequently). For most of my life I was comfortable dressing that way and had little or no desire to concern myself with the "fashionable pursuits." But now that I'm older and having recently taken a more executive position at my job (i.e. no more field work), I find myself in a world where appearance matters much more than it ever did before. Plus, I have to admit, I'm actually enjoying putting on better clothes and going to work in them. It's more trouble with all the ironing and fussing over them (mostly trying not to get anything on them at lunch etc), but you can see the psychological effect it has on the people around you and even yourself in your dealings with other people (both in and out of work). Of course I've always known how you dress strongly affects how people perceive you and deal with you, but living in better clothes for a couple months now has really brought that particular experience to my attention moreso than ever before.