Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

OVERPAID

Status
Not open for further replies.

TOM BLAINE

New in Town
HI GUYS,
I AM NEW TO THE HAT GAME AND HAVE JUST OVERPAID FOR A "VINTAGE" HOMBURG. IT'S IN FINE CONDITION BUT, A) IT IS THE WRONG SHAPE FOR MY NOGIN, AND B) I LOOK LIKE A DORK IN A HOMBURG. DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY THOUGHTS ABOUT HAVINE IT REBLOCKED INTO A FEDORA LIKE HAT? SECONDLY, IS THERE ANY GUIDE OTHER THAN PLANE OLD EXPERIENCE ABOUT VALUING HATS? WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A ROYAL STETSON AND A SOVEREIGN ETC? ARE THERE ANY BOOKS ON THE SUBJECT?

REGARDS TO ALL
TOM

Snrbfshn

A-List Customer
No need to SHOUT, we can hear fine...

There are precious few resource books on the subject of hats, and none that I'm aware of that has aggregated the info you seek. The best education I've found is the one you're reading now. Some folks like jamespowers have put together significant collections of hats, and even the old advertisements for them, which help in IDing acquisitions.

I had your same experience with a homburg. A black Imperial Stetson, it was one of the first vintage hats I acquired. I was disappointed in the look, and toyed with the idea of trimming off the rolled brim and fedoraizing it. My taste has now tempered. With the right attire (for me, a black double-breasted suit with faint pinstripes), it's a killer topper. Also, as you'll soon find out, the price and value of vintage hats is going up, and my sense is if you view the homburg as an investment, you can sell it down the road for a profit.

havershaw

Practically Family