Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Question about 70s Air Force jacket.

rgraham

A-List Customer
I know nothing about these jackets, and I'm wondering if someone can fill me in on what it is.

It is being sold for $80. Is that what it's worth?

IMG_0178-vi.jpg

IMG_0177-vi.jpg

bbc1969

Familiar Face
rgraham said:
I know nothing about these jackets, and I'm wondering if someone can fill me in on what it is.

It is being sold for $80. Is that what it's worth?

Based upon what looks like a quilted liner, it is an MA-1 version flight jacket. It was derived from the B-15 I believe.

In looking at a couple of vendors (US Wings, and Flightjacket.com), the prices for new manufacture range from $50.00, to $79.00 new.

I am not an expert on values, but without any other information of it history, or any other details, I believe $80.00 is priced high. Maybe thats just me though.

blethook

One of the Regulars
bbc1969 said:
Based upon what looks like a quilted liner, it is an MA-1 version flight jacket. It was derived from the B-15 I believe.

In looking at a couple of vendors (US Wings, and Flightjacket.com), the prices for new manufacture range from $50.00, to $79.00 new.

I am not an expert on values, but without any other information of it history, or any other details, I believe $80.00 is priced high. Maybe thats just me though.

Agree that it's an MA-1 jacket. It may be worth $80, or more if it is a military issue version (as supposed to the civilian version).

You need to ask the seller for more details. Normally there is a paper tag inside the left pocket that will tell you a bit more about the jacket (contract no, stock no, manufacturer, etc.) so you can date the jacket. The zipper should also help you date the jacket.

Nonetheless, it is a good, functional (warm) jacket.

Hope that helps.

Peacoat