Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Questions about Hat Ribbons

GentlemanGamer

New in Town
Hello alll;

As you could likely tell by my post count, I'm a newbie to the fedora lounge; glad to be here :) After extensive research and reading many of you guys' posts in various threads, I've decided to purchase my first fedora; a black Federation IV Deluxe (or the regular IV... still making up my mind on that one). Sure it's an 'Indy' hat, but to me it's one of the nicest hats I've seen and for a fairly reasonable price; it has a fair sized brim, a decent crown, that 'classic' look, looks fairly soft and is reportedly one of the more durable hats out there. I figure I could do a lot worse for my first fedora, and once my budget allows me to pick one up, I look forward to wearing it :)

However, while I feel fairly set on the color of the hat itself, I'm less then fond of the ribbon color and plan on changing it to a gray one once I actually get the hat. However, I'm not necessairly sure of a few things regarding hat ribbons;

1. Where can one get a quality hat ribbon, or would any sort of ribbon do (for example, from a craft store)?
2. How does one put on a hat ribbon so it's secure and looks nice (with a bow finish)?
3. Is there a certain width that the ribbon should be to give the hat a nice look? 1 inch? 2 inch? 1.5 inches?

Any help you guys can give me regarding this would be appreciated; as someone who's never spent more then $60 on a hat before, I'm a little anxious about spending this much money on a fedora, so to know that I can change the fedora to get my 'ideal look' without worry would be reassuring. Thanks in advance! :D

ManofKent

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Welcome to the Lounge!
Grosgrain ribbon is the sort of ribbon.