Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Raf style flying jacket.

jon11

A-List Customer
Hello, I am new to this great forum and live in Northern. Ireland. I need advice as to Irvin Flying jackets as there appears to be many suppliers out there with an array of prices. Can the experts tell me the best place to look, and secondly is a mint example of the real thing hard to find? I really would like one for everyday normal wear, walks etc. Any help greatly appreciated.

Sloan1874

I'll Lock Up
There is an exhaustive thread on repro Irvins on the Lounge - search "repro" and "irvin" and it'll appear. The real Irvin thread is on the yellow-highlighted sticky section at the top of the front page. I'm currently researching them with a view to ordering a repro Irvin for everyday use myself, and I've picked up virtually everything I needed to make my decision from that thread (It's very long and will take you at least two to three evenings to get through the whole thing.) Happy reading...

jon11

A-List Customer
Thank you just found it. I also found a member with fantastic Irvin Jackets from 1941-42, aswatland (Andrew) what can I say just blown away with this Gentleman's taste and eye for quality. You are right its going a bit of reading, but what I have discerned already there are a lot of members with vast knowledge on this subject. Many thanks for your advice.

Sloan1874

I'll Lock Up