Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Roaring 20s/Prohibition party attire

Brinybay

Practically Family
I'm helping to organize a "Roaring 20s" party. I'm to play the role of the bartender. I have ZILCH vintage attire. Close as I come are a few shirts and jackets I used when I used to work as a limo driver. These are just black/white suits, that is, black jacket and pants with a white shirt, black ties, black vest. The shirts do have french cuffs.

I do have a bow tie that came with one of the shirts. But I was wanting to get something a little more "vintage". I don't have a lot of money to spend on this. I'm not above going to a thrift store to find something that would make-do. I may possibly be able to spend a few dollars on a shirt if it's very time-period appropriate.

What I need to know are some ways I can take contempory clothing articles and sort of "fake it". For example a friend suggested folding up the collar on my white shirts and then pressing the corners down to get that vintage look. BTW, what are those shirts called anyway, that look like the collar is folded up, like the bartender in the clip is wearing?

Also, can anyone tell me what these shirts are in this picture, with the very high collar? (From the left, #2, 3, 5, 6, 7).

Seattle Police Dept. "Dry Squad", c1921.

SPDdrysquad1921.jpg

Mike in Seattle

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Check some of the tuxedo rental shops - they usually have some older shirts & tuxes they sell cheap. There's also a store next to Borders at SouthCenter that always has good prices on new tuxes & shirts & such.

The shirt you mention (but not the mention of the ones in the photo) is a wing-collared tux shirt. Besides thrift shops and the above-mentioned tux shops, check Nordstrom Rack.