Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

sewing lessons (anyone take some??)

John J

Familiar Face
Hello again.

anyone ever take sewing lessons?

I seem to spend quite a bit of dollars on alterations and repair work. Im very good at doing hand repairs But that's it.

Id like to be able to do basic alterations ( waist/ hems, single seam shirt tapering...)

Id leave suit , coat and more complicated repairs to my Italian Tailor for sure.

I often see very nice $$ clothing at the thrift stores I stalk But then mentally ring up the cost of taking them in /out and doing the hems I then don't bother buying them. pants might be 5-7 dollars a pair with alterations running 15-30 on top of that.

self taught would be easy enough but lessons would cut to the chase it SEAMS (pun intended)

"John"

bond

My Mail is Forwarded Here
I found a good teacher at a fabric store by chance when I was purchasing fabric to make hat liners. She happened to be a very accomplished clothing designer and childrens instructor that graciously obliged to teach me how to make and sew hat liners for a nominal fee at her studio.
I also put ads on Craig's list and had replys .
Before all that I took tailoring classes at local comm college many years ago when there was such a program.
Good luck
"Where there's a will there's a way"

Seraph1227

One of the Regulars
Being a former employee of Viking Sewing Mach. inc. I was required to learn how to sew and embroider using the company machines. I have found it to be a immensely useful skill.

LuvMyMan

I’ll Lock Up.
Geez....my Daughter can sew like a fiend...but not for anything for us in this household. It would be nice to learn, and I know even Daniel would love to learn to use a Machine. Hand sewing is all that goes on for us. Lessons would be great!

GHT

I'll Lock Up