source for this 2-ply grosgrain ribbon

Discussion in 'Ask The Artisan' started by busstonedfx, Jun 3, 2020.

1. busstonedfx

busstonedfx New in Town

Hi everyone, newbie here. I damaged a band on a hat I had, and wanted to replace it w one exactly like this picture. I'm told by someone who knows more than me that this is 2-ply grosgrain ribbon.. I know there are probably different grades...

I found some on etsy, that aren't necessary for hatmaking

https://www.etsy.com/listing/755411...allery-1-7&organic_search_click=1&bes=1&col=1

Are these noticeably different than what I'm looking for?

Does anyone have a bettter/more correct source? Preferably somewhere that sells in small quantities?

Thank you all :)

Attached Files:

2. belfastboy

belfastboy I'll Lock Up

Instagram check out Purebeaver. Tim sells felts and ribbons. He offers pre made two ply ribbons in a variety of colours already done up with the slip knots

3. busstonedfx

busstonedfx New in Town

it seems his website is down... does www.purebeaverhatsupply.com work for you? i don't have an instagram account, i guess i'm gonnaa make one

4. belfastboy

belfastboy I'll Lock Up

I have only ever accessed him through Instagram. I don't think he has a website.

5. busstonedfx

busstonedfx New in Town

in his description he links to it, but it seems the link is dead. i'm gonna shoot him a message-thanks!

6. belfastboy

belfastboy I'll Lock Up

He offers both vintage and modern in a variety of colours.

7. busstonedfx

busstonedfx New in Town

i'm just looking for the basic, just like in that pic... can you tell me what i'm asking for so i don't look like a complete noob to him? :p its just plain old 2-ply grosgrain?

8. belfastboy

belfastboy I'll Lock Up

He shows pics on his Purebeaver Instagram page. It is two ply ribbon tied in a slip knot ready to install on the hat. $12.50 for the modern and $16.50 for vintage (or close to that amount)

9. busstonedfx

busstonedfx New in Town