Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

The toughest hat

Wolfevintage

New in Town
Hello everyone,

I apologize if this has been asked before, but I am in the process of replacing another hat. I'm looking for something that is rugged, durable and rebuild able. From sandstorms to heavy rainstorms, I need a good fedora that can handle it all,and come out ready for more. Suggestions?

Hello everyone,

I apologize if this has been asked before, but I am in the process of replacing another hat. I'm looking for something that is rugged, durable and rebuild able. From sandstorms to heavy rainstorms, I need a good fedora that can handle it all,and come out ready for more. Suggestions?

I think that the Stratton uniform hats deserve a look.

Rmccamey

I'll Lock Up
I have no direct experience but many folks here brag on the Akubra models.

Hello everyone,

The Lost Cowboy

One Too Many
Hello everyone,

I’m a truck driver and a full-time world traveler and I go for hats that are exactly what you’ve described.

The best deal for the money on a modern hat that I have found is an Akubra. With full-time travel all over the world (in extreme heat, snow, rain, jungle safaris, desert expeditions, up into Himalayas, not to mention full-time over the road trucking work), a new Akubra will stay in top form for about two years in my experience. The hat lasts much longer than that but starts looking noticeably worn out at about the two year mark. Also the sweatbands start to shrink. But I can count on them for constant rough wear for about two years (I’ve worn two different Akubras this hard and they both held up great for two years).