Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Tonak fedora

matei

One Too Many
During a recent visit to Romania to see some family I picked up a dark blue Czech (Tonak) fedora. The felt is very soft and pliable compared to my Herbert Johnsons. It cost me about €30. Regardless of the price - it looks nice.

At this price it is the ideal hat to experiment with for different crown shapes!

There are a surprising amount of hats available. Most of the larger shops (Romanian version of malls or department stores) have a small selection. They are mostly foreign made.

Biltmore Bob

Suspended
I have had some (very little) experience with the hats that you speak of. Mine is a Solentino, but I have been told it was made by Tonak. The felt of mine is very thin, tight, and light. The crown crease soon lost it's shape and would not accept a crease, either when I tried to do it myself with a kettle on the boil, or a professional hatter here in Houston. I wore it for about a season, until it became very tight fitting, I guess it shrunk. I did not store it properly, and noticed a few moth nibbles that whent clean through the felt. The hat was very inexpensive, $50 US.

BellyTank

I'll Lock Up
Yes, that'll be fun.
I have a couple of free samples from a Polish company that I'm currently playing with- it's amazing what a complete visual change you can make with a bit of hand forming and steam. Yeh- Tonak are Czech, the Poles and Czechs make a lot of hats- pretty much most of the fur felt fashion hats that are sold in Europe and a lot abroad too and marketed under different names in the 'States.
The 2 that I scored are black and I think are Rabbit -one has a slight velour finish and the other is smoother.