Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Vintage in So. Cal? Help needed!!

jkath

New in Town
Oh dear!
I am brand new at vintage (there's an oxymoron), and my first major event is a week from Saturday. (We're talking hundreds of people in 1940's vintage wear, and I must look my best) My dress I found on ebay arrived today and even though it's lovely, it will need too many alterations:cry: I'm hoping one of you SoCal locals can help me locate a vintage store to find a new evening gown for the event.
help! help! help!help!

MissQueenie

Practically Family
Try Julian's on 3rd.

Here's their info -- the guy is really nice and they have lots of things, but it's sort of tight in there -- don't go on a rainy day! :p

Julian's Vintage Clothing
8366 1/2 West 3rd St.
Los Angeles, CA 90048
(323) 655-3011

There is also Polka Dots And Moonbeams across the street, but they have a more eclectic selection, and I doubt you'd have much luck. Still fun to browse!

If you're willing to break the bank for this event, no holds barred -- try The Way They Wore on La Brea and 4th. Everything is stunning. Everything is stunningly priced (ouch, ouch, ouch!). It's worth a browse even if you're just going to sigh over the unattainable yet so-perfect piece you will inevitably find. They also have a large selection of shoes, if I remember correctly.

If you're up for a southerly jaunt, try Wear it Again, Sam in Hillcrest (San Diego). They've got tons of fun stuff, the employees are really nice (even if they get to pick over the stock before it gets put out -- GRR!), and prices are about what you'd expect... They were pretty reasonable a few years back, but unfortunately their prices have been climbing. Still not terrible -- less than you'd probably pay for a new evening gown at Macy's. Very lovely atmosphere.

jkath

New in Town