Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Waht do you call the soft straw hats?

Bret4207

New in Town
Title pretty much says it. I want a soft straw/palm/whatever hat, more or less western or Aussie style, for sun protection. I have a long oval noggin and the very stiff, almost plastic feeling hats I can get locally (TSC, etc) simply suck swamp water. I want something that will easily conform to my head, nothing too expensive (I am a farmer after all), and I need to know what trade name or description to look for. I was getting by with the cheap Dorfman Pacifics, but they no longer offer the model I liked and instead have models with a lot of open space in the crown- not something a bald headed, skin cancer kinda guy like me needs.

Thanks.

Bret4207

New in Town
Okay, I must not be making it clear. I'm not after a particular style. What I'm asking is what do I look for in the hats material description? I want a pliable, soft, easy to conform to my head straw/palm material. All I can find that are labeled or ID'd as "straw" are these hard, stiff almost plastic like hats. I;m sure a lot of us have seen the real cheapy wool felt hats that are stiff as a board and heavy vs a quality fur felt hats that is pliable and softer. That's what I'm asking. Am I looking for straw or rafia or palm or whatever other definitions they use?

And yes ingineer, those are sort of what I want style wise.

fedoracentric

Banned
It really depends, though. Some Panamas are stiff, yet others are soft and pliable. Maybe you could show us a link to a photo of the sort of hat you are thinking of?