Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

What do you make of this?

Dominic

One of the Regulars
Now before I let you go any further, I warn you that there is at the end of this post an "unsettling" image (nothing inappropriate I assure but unsettling nevertheless).

As some of you may have gathered by now, during some of my free time I work as a volunteer at the Canadian Railway Museum. Most of the time I act as a guide but on some occasions I do bring my photo equipment and shoot images of the collection that the museum can later use as it sees fit.

About a year ago I did an entire afternoon of photography in what we call the Great Gallery, a large train station-like area where locomotives and rolling stock are in display. With me, three cameras, a traditional Pentax K-1000 with Tri-400 Max black & white film, my Canon Rebel XT and another Rebel XT (belonging to a friend) but with the infrared blocker, in front of the CCD, removed (this allows the camera to shoot near infrared-like images).

Here's an example of an infrared pic taken with the second Rebel XT:

713_vertical.jpg

Here's another one:

144_numberplate_horizontal.jpg

At some point during the afternoon I stepped aboard sleeper car Neuville, built at the end of the 19th century for the Canadian Pacific. It's a passenger car equipped with 4 bunks and one lavatory. Seeking to get unusual angles, I stepped inside the lavatory and took a picture. Unfortunately I had forgot to remove the flash. Here's the picture:

oct0372.jpg