Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

What's wrong with Ralph Lauren these days?

luvthatlulu

Suspended
I have been wondering for some time now...am I the only person who can't decide if Ralph Lauren has lost his mind or has he merely just decided it doesn't matter anymore?

I had an interesting experience the other day in the Polo Department of a local store that I must relate to you; however, first let me provide some brief background: I have been buying Ralph's products since 1969 when he was first getting started with his own line of neckties. And I can say (not proudly) that I did even at times when it wasn't exactly economically sound to do so (during four years of college, a stint in the military, my first "real job" after being discharged from the service, etc). I have always liked nice, classicly-styled clothes; and, at least in those times, his clothing line represented exactly what I wanted. So I made sacrifices. Lots of sacrifices. In short, I may not be the best customer Ralph's ever had, but I suspect I'm cold-nosing whoever is running in second or third place.

So the other day I happen to find myself in the Polo Department of a local department store at the exact same time that the Polo rep is visiting. The salespeople all know me too well I'm afraid and introduce me to her as "a very good customer". Immediately, she asks me why I like Ralph Lauren's products so well and asks for my input. Big mistake.