Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

When Not to Wear a Hat?

Gilgamark

A-List Customer
I met a potential new client yesterday. He and I had spoken over the phone and exchanged emails. He had talked to some other people about me and I had done the same about him, etc. But this was our first meeting. He's a businessman, thinking of running for office for the first time. Complete political neophyte. We met at his office.

To the point, I decided not to wear a hat to the meeting. Of course, I would have taken it off when I went inside his building regardless, but I worried that a hat might be seen as too individualistic or "flaky" for what was, in effect, a job interview.

Since I'm still relatively new to hat wearing (about nine months), I wasn't sure, and decided not to take the chance - even though politics, especially campaign politics, is full of individuals and "flakes."

What are the thoughts on wearing hats to interviews or business meetings? Did I make the right call or did I overthink it?

I'll also add that had we been meeting in a less formal setting (drinks, dinner, whatever) I would have worn a hat.

Goose.

Practically Family
Paisley said:
You called it right. There's a time and place for fashion statements, and a typical job interview isn't it.
I agree.

As much as I like and understand the hat gig, most do not. In my job, I have interviewed hundreds of info tech candidates and most are what we call "customer facing" positions. Suits are the norm for management and biz casual for personnel doing the heavy lifting (real work).

If I was to send a candidate that I liked and the customer saw him bring a hat to the interview, it could be seen that the person is ostensibly playing "dress up" day. Right or wrong, perception is reality when it comes down to customers that equal "revenue".