Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

When was this reversible jacket made?

fnoprx

Familiar Face
Second post here after years of regular visits. Thought I would start by asking you wise folks about a jacket I recently bought - a very nice reversible gab-style jacket in amazing shape. Love the silver flecked side.

Can anyone tell me when this was made? Is it collectable or just a wearer?

img0530cv.jpg

img0532it.jpg

img0534l.jpg

img0536k.jpg

Thanks!

Edward

Bartender
If it's genuinely 1950s, it could be worth big money; I've seen good examples of this style sell for more than a really nice fifties suit. It certainly looks vintage to me, but I'm no expert. I expect someone here will be able to date it from the label and zip details, though. Crown was a big zip provider back i the day, so that's probably a very good clue as to age, the design on the puller, assuming it wasn't a later replacement.

Guttersnipe

One Too Many
Based on the style/typography of the label I'd say the second half of the 1950's through the early 60's. In regards to whether it's a collectible or a wearer, for me, there's no difference; I wear a short, late 30's, wool side-cinch jacket for everyday wear (which is considered by workwear collectors to be very desirable and valuable). I can get away with wearing that jacket as much as I do because wool is hard-wearing. The way I look at it, the most expensive piece of clothing is the one you rarely/never wear (and I do have plenty of of those too . . .once the vintage bug gets ya, it's hard to pass up cool things).