Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Dark Art: What makes a Film Noir

Rigby Reardon

One of the Regulars
That was a great article, Steve - thanks!

You know, even with that thoughtful, insightful discussion...I'm still having trouble NOT calling 'The Big Lebowski' an example of 'film noir'. ;) Especially considering the likely origin or the genre being an expression of fatalistic existentialism.

(I studied Existentialism and Phenomenology in college, so I am qualified to use that word now. :p )

J

Hemingway Jones

I'll Lock Up
Bartender
Thanks Mr. Dalexs,
What a thoughtful article. I am amazed our rag of a newspaper published it. It was worthy of the New York Times A & E section.

In any case, with a media as dynamic as film; one which borrows from many source, it is not easy to describe completely a genre in general or even the genre of a particular film. It may have to suffice to say that "Noir" is a matter of tone and like "Good Art" ya' know it when ya' see it.

Feraud

Bartender
Rigby Reardon said:
You know, even with that thoughtful, insightful discussion...I'm still having trouble NOT calling 'The Big Lebowski' an example of 'film noir'. ;)
Same here! The Big L. certainly contains the elements of Noir. The investigator with a not so straightforward case, the dames, bad guys, double crossin nihilists, etc.
Memento is another movie that always struck me are 'Noir-ish'.

Clyde R.

One of the Regulars